Beauty · Beauty boxes

Birchbox UK review – August

Welcome to my first Birchbox review. I’ve been getting these boxes for over a year now and wanted to share my opinions about them with the rest of the online community. August’s theme is Away We Go! and this month’s birchbox comes with a cute little plastic travel bag and plenty of travel sized goodies. Let’s get straight into it shall we?

August Birchbox

IMG_1917

As you can see the lifestyle extra this month is a sample of a book. The book is The Proposal by Tasmina Perry and I get what they were trying to do. I read the sample chapters and this book reads exactly like a cheesy summer beach read so the fit with the theme is actually very good, however I am not at all keen on cheesy, chick flick romance books so this was a not very welcome addition. The samples themselves were of a much higher quality.

IMG_1921

First out of the bag is Vasanti‘s Brighten Up! exfoliating cleanser. The sample is generously sized, I’m still not done with it and it’s not an everyday use sample so it should last you a while. The exfoliating beads are so fine you can really feel them getting into your pores and clearing the dirt away. The only nit pick I have with this sample is that it seemed to dry my skin out a lot so don’t use it too often. However if you have over indulged the next sample is going to be right up your street.

IMG_1920

Nude‘s face oil is ultra moisturising and sinks into your skin straight away. I’ve never tried a face oil before so this is a great sample from Birchbox for widening my beauty toolbox. The oil doesn’t smell great but the smell doesn’t linger and it leaves your skin feeling lovely. I have been using it in the mornings under my makeup and at night with a serum for extra moisture. A little bit goes a long way with this so again, it’s actually a pretty generous sample.

IMG_1922

The third offering this month is a leave in conditioner. It’s okay but also doesn’t smell as fab as I would like and unfortunately has nothing on the Beauty Protector – Protect and Detangle conditioner which is an old Birchbox find and can be found here. Functional, but in my opinion nothing to write home about. However it is a good fit for the theme as I made very good use of my beauty protector in Cuba a few months ago, so if packing for a holiday away a leave in conditioner is a very good pick!

IMG_1923

My favourite samples this month are these little beauties, Supergoop Daily correct CC cream. At first when I opened my bag and saw them I thought ‘Here we go again. Another attempt to convert me to BB or CC creams.’ Up until now I haven’t seen the big deal at all and haven’t been able to tell the difference between any of them. This stuff is different, the texture is lovely and matches to your skin tone beautifully, it looks like you aren’t wearing anything but evens colour all over and hides blemishes. Actually a little goes a long way so the samples aren’t as stingy as I first thought on pulling them out of the bag either, I find this stuff is perfect for work or when I’m in a rush and it has the added bonus of working as a daily sunscreen (SPF 35) perfect for on the beach! I will definitely be investing in a full sized sample of this.

IMG_1924IMG_1926IMG_1925

The final sample this month is a full sized creme eye shadow from Wild about Beauty. My colour is 03 – buster, which is a shimmery gold. I love it when Birchbox send us full sized samples as you get a chance to really incorporate something into your everyday life and that’s exactly what I’ve done with this one. It’s a great day-to-day colour. The initial layer is sheer and therefore appropriate for work but layer it up and it’ll take your right into the evening. It has good staying power too, much more than a powder shadow and I love it. I already own a lot of products on the gold spectrum but this sample has shot up to my number one spot. 

And there you have it. Not a bad box this month, in my Birchbox review I gave it an 8/10 and I stand by that. There were new things to try and high quality samples with generous sizes. Thanks Birchbox! Until next month…

2 thoughts on “Birchbox UK review – August

Leave a Reply

