Beauty

Beauty stash storage solution

I don’t know about you guys but I have serious storage woes when it comes to my makeup. I love Birchbox but with receiving so many little pots and potions every month it can be hard to keep track of everything. I have wayyy too much stuff for a conventional makeup bag and with products piling up on top of other products it’s impossible to remember everything I have.

This year one of my resolutions was to get organised and I’ve started with my beauty stash. Come and see what I’ve done.

I have moved out from my home in Kent and am now renting in Berkshire, my room here doesn’t have any real built in storage so anything I wanted had to be compact and well organised.

I have seen lots of bloggers discussing the clear acrylic towers that the Kardashian’s have to store their makeup and while I don’t watch the show it sounded pretty promising. I did some research (googling) and found a picture of what looked like my perfect set up.

makeup box

Delving a bit deeper turned up lots of replicas on the internet but they were all *so* expensive. As much as I wanted something like this I wasn’t prepared to shell out £100 for what is essentially some plastic. But then I spotted something perfect at John Lewis.

all 3 containers

They aren’t designed as makeup storage, they are actually desk organisers, but they were clear and acrylic and stackable and exactly what I was after!
I bought the drawers, the pen holder and the general organiser and then had all the fun of arranging them and setting up my own little system.

The three drawers are the main body of my stack, with the other two balanced on top.

IMG_2419

On the bottom layer I have placed all my eye shadows and shimmers and also my primer from Avon.

IMG_2606

The eye shadows have been placed upside down in some cases to make it easier to see colours at a glance, or to read the names and more easily choose whichever one I’m after.

The next level up is currently home to my blushers, bronzers and highlighters. You can see quite a few products from theBalm there. They are an American brand that I absolutely love.

IMG_2613

The top layer is currently holding all the things that don’t quite fit, or are teeny tiny samples that will be used up in one or two uses.
My eye and lip products can be found on top of the stack in the pen holder and general organiser.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

At the back there are all my eye liners and my They’re Real mascara from Benefit, which is the only one I use. Also a few tools like eyelash curlers, tweezers, eye makeup brushes and a nail file. In the little drawers at the front I keep some hair accessories and other tools; pencil sharpener, kirby grips and nail clippers.

IMG_2611

I filled out the rest with bb creams, serums and some little primers and concealers.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

The lip products, and a few face creams that only fit here, can be found in the pencil holder. As you can see they’re arranged by size, with the lipsticks in the shorter sections and the longer pencils and glosses in the taller sections.

And that’s really all there is to it! Oh here’s a quick shot of the whole lot stacked together.

IMG_2425

IMG_2427

What do you think?
How do you guys organise all of your beauty products?
Do you think desk organisers are something you might try?

Let me know in the comments!

X

4 thoughts on “Beauty stash storage solution

Leave a Reply

