Beauty · Beauty boxes

Birchbox UK review – February

February kisses everyone.
This month’s Birchbox theme is ‘Birchbox Loves’ and they promise a box filled with some of the very best products for us to fall in love with.
No themed box this month, just the usual packaging but the contents more than make up for that.

IMG_2696

My favourite sample in this month’s box was the full size Wild About Beauty Rose water illuminating serum. A sample like that retails for £22 so it was a nice surprise.

IMG_2702

The serum is actually dispensed with a pump, and the product is a gorgeous shimmery, iridescent liquid. Although it’s named rose water I didn’t sense anything rosy in the smell. it doesn’t smell strongly of anything really. It does leave your skin feeling lovely and soft though and I love it. The instructions say you can apply this over your makeup base for a real dewy glow, which I’ll be trying next.

One of my samples this month is a repeat of one I had a long time ago. The Stainiac lip and cheek tint from theBalm.
This is a lovely product and I wasn’t reviewing when I got it last time so I’ll run through it quickly, but I was disappointed. Fortunately Birchbox saw my tweet and gave me some points on my account to make up for the disappointment.

IMG_2707

This stain looks pretty dark in the tube but if you swipe it over your lips it leaves a very natural tint to them. It’s also buildable though, so if you fancy something a bit bolder you can just keep layering. I don’t use it on my cheeks as I wasn’t a huge fan of the colour with my skin tone but I would advise you blend quickly if you do as it sets fast.

S

Spoilers for this month promised two makeup samples and this was the second of mine. A Cynthia Rowley eyeliner in silver. I’m not quite sure how I feel about silver liner, I’ve given it a try and the formula is nice; it glides on easily and stays put all day but I’m not a huge fan of the colour. On the other hand the other option was black, and I already have plenty of black eyeliners so I appreciate something different. Birchbox have a little tutorial in the magazine this month about a metallic eye, so I’m going to give that a watch and reserve my judgement for now.

My next sample from the box was a shampoo from Liz Earle.

IMG_2704

I’ve only ever used the face wash before (which I love!) so this was a good one to get. The sample is a very generous 50ml and it’s lovely. It leaves my hair feeling really deep cleaned. I’ve only used a little bit as I plan to take this away with me on holiday at the end of the month, and as I only have hand luggage it will be perfect for packing light!

My last product sample is a bath and shower wash from T London and a Birchbox exclusive. It’s a rich and luxurious bath and shower wash that smells of green tea and chamomile.

IMG_2701

It’s nice and soothing and the smell is very relaxing but a full sized bottle is £18 from the Birchbox shop which seems pretty excessive to me for a body wash. If I’m going to splurge it’s generally on skincare not something for the shower.

This month’s lifestyle extra was an Oats and Chia pack from the Chia Co.

IMG_2700

My flavour was mixed berry and it was delicious! The instructions tell you to make it with water but I used almond milk and microwaved the bowl for one minute.

IMG_2717

I really really liked it and am definitely planning to pick up some more to keep at work for a quick breakfast on the mornings I run out of time. You can make this with boiling water in a mug so it’s ideal for breakfast at your desk.

And that’s it for this month’s Birchbox. Apart from the slip up with my repeated sample I liked it a lot. Definitely a lot better than January’s box in my opinion.
I would give this month’s box a solid 8/10.

What did you think of this month’s samples? And how did your box differ to mine?

Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

