Beauty · Beauty boxes

Birchbox UK review – March

Hi All,
And welcome to another month. Apologies for the delay in posting, I know it’s late in the month for a Birchbox review but I’ve had a busy few weeks. More on that later.

For now, let’s check out the March Birchbox, in collaboration with Habitat shall we?

IMG_2930

It’s pretty, one of my favourites I think but you’ll have to click through to see it open up.

IMG_2931

There it is. I have mixed feelings about this month’s Birchbox and I’m hoping this review will help me to resolve them into a solid opinion so let’s get started shall we?

First out of the box this month was hotly anticipated because it was a sample of Benefit’s new Roller Lash mascara. We were given the opportunity to pick between three Benefit mascaras for this month’s box and I had to try this new to the brand offering.

 IMG_2940

I actually really like this mascara, although it doesn’t curl my lashes as promised, so there will be no doing away with my eyelash curler. It does have lots of little hooks in the wand that do a really good job of coating all my lashes. I think it might have taken over from They’re Real as my new go-to mascara.

Second out of my box this month was a perfume sample I think everyone received. Catherine Malandrino, Style de Paris.

IMG_2945

The sample comes in a tiny spritzer, which is probably the best way to sample perfumes. I’ve had sachets which are only one use before and they are completely pointless. I got 10-15 spritzes out of this so enough to get a good idea of the scent. Unfortunately I wasn’t a big fan.
The initial scent is pleasant, citrusy and sweet, but unfortunately there is nothing lasting about this perfume. After an hour or so it’s completely gone, which is disappointing. I won’t be investing.

My third sample was a facial scrub cleanser from Janjira.

IMG_2938

I’ve not heard of the brand before but was quite happy to get a face scrub. I haven’t got a facial exfoliator at the moment and I like to have a deep clean once a weekish. Unfortunately I didn’t really like this scrub very much. The smell was not very pleasant and the texture was far too coarse for my liking. Another disappointment.

My fourth sample was an offering from Phillip Kingsley. A smoothing cream.

IMG_2944

I’ve always been very happy with samples from Phillip Kingsley before. So far I have tried the Elasticizer and the Flaky/itchy shampoo through Birchbox. I wasn’t really sure about this Smooth Cream though, the instructions weren’t very clear as to whether you should apply to damp hair or dry so for the sake of this review and the scientific method I tried both. It didn’t seem to make much difference. On dry hair you have to be very sparing with the product so  you don’t end up weighing the hair down and making it look greasy but on wet hair it seemed to have no effect. The sample smells nice but it promises to tame frizz and add shine to your smoothed hair and I didn’t see any evidence of this myself. Sadly, I was disappointed again.

My last sample from this month’s box was a tanning oil from TanOrganic.

IMG_2943

It’s been a long time since I tried a fake tan, I think I outgrew it when I left Uni and had no desire to wear super short dresses with no tights anymore. But again, in the interest of reviewing fairly, I gave it a go. I was pleasantly surprised by this sample. It’s a generous amount. ( I only used it on my legs just in case it was a disaster, I’m far too old for that streaky orange look) After a full legs application there is still loads in the bottle and the formula was moisturising and didn’t have that distinctive ‘fake tan smell’ that you usually get. The colour was subtle but I think it would build nicely, I’m planning to use the rest of the bottle.

The lifestyle extras this month were disappointing. We received a small notebook and a few chapters to sample of a book.

IMG_2937

IMG_2935

The notebook is pretty pointless and the book was okay, but I have no intention of purchasing a full sized copy as it’s not really my thing. I also don’t sign up to a beauty box to receive chapter samples so I wasn’t really impressed.

Although this month’s box was in collaboration with Habitat, there wasn’t a lot to really tell you that from looking at the contents. I feel like they could have made the lifestyle extras much more theme appropriate. I was also disappointed with quite a few of my samples this month so for that reason I’m going to give March’s Birchbox a 5/10.

Did you get this month’s box?
How did your samples differ to mine and what did you think?

Let me know in the comments!

Cesca X

Leave a Reply

