Beauty · Beauty boxes

Birchbox UK review – September

2015-09-11 16.41.53

This September is the 5 year anniversary of the founding of Birchbox. It’s a pretty big milestone, and to celebrate every sample in this month’s box is from the US of A just like Birchbox itself.
September is also my birthday month so it feels a bit special to receive a birthday themed box to celebrate and it’s such a gorgeous box too. The contents are probably the most important part though so keep reading if you want to know what’s in this month’s box.

2015-09-11 16.47.28

This month’s samples are a nice range of makeup, skin care and hair care and my favourite sample is the Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant by Paula’s Choice.

2015-09-11 16.45.43

It’s a generous 30ml sample that I’ve been using morning and night underneath my moisturiser. This is a chemical exfoliant which contains BHA (Salicylic acid) to gently clean out your pores and reduce redness and irritation. It certainly seems to be calming my skin, which has been all over the place lately.

My second sample this month was the Citrus Neroli Detangler by John Masters Organics.

2015-09-11 16.45.26

The sample has a lovely fresh lemony scent, and made my hair smell amazing. I always make sure to wash my hair first in the shower so I can leave my conditioner in for as long as possible so I probably left this in for five minutes and it left my hair so soft and shiny. I have a lot of hair so I probably won’t get more than two uses out of this sample.

2015-09-11 16.45.02

Something I was quite excited for this month and found pretty disappointing was the License To Blot sample from Benefit. As you can see it comes in a little stick that can be used to soak up oil before applying your makeup and also throughout the day. However I found it left my pores feeling quite clogged, and didn’t perform as well as my Porefessional balm. I tried applying over my makeup to see if it could be useful to pop in my bag for on the go touch ups, but it just smudged my makeup around and didn’t really do much. I’m afraid it’s a thumbs down from me.

My fourth sample this month was foot patrol from Bliss.

 2015-09-11 16.44.20

This cream claims to exfoliate, cool and condition our toes. It has a lovely light peppermint scent and feels very moisturising. I’ve been slathering it on my feet after getting out of the shower every night and then putting on cotton socks to help keep the moisture in and stop myself from slipping. My feet are feeling softer than ever so it’s another good sample for me.

My last product sample was a chubby lip pencil from LAQA & Co. in Humble Brag.

It’s probably not a colour I will use much as I think it looks like a very barbie sort of pink. It’s quite pigmented so one swipe gives you a strong colour, whereas I usually prefer something where a light touch can give just a wash of colour.
Birchbox have sent a few different LAQA & Co. samples over the years. I still have a red and purple in my collection. I like the twist ends that bring the sticks up (*so* much easier than sharpening) and they last forever. It’s just not really the colour for me.

As we all know, every month there is a lifestyle extra, and this month was no exception.

Birchbox sent us their own version of the tangle teaser. I’m sure a lot of people will like this but I have never needed a brush like this for my hair, (not to sound smug or anything) but I just don’t get knots!
I do have a friend who is forever losing her own tangle teaser and I think this sample could be put to much better use with her.

And that’s it for September. I was much happier with this month’s box than last month. I felt like some effort had actually gone into thinking about the types of samples included, and there was a lot more variety than we’ve seen recently in the brand selection. (It’s okay to include trusty faves but the whole point is meant to be brand and product discovery).

So for those reasons I’m going to give this month’s box 8/10.
How did your boxes differ to mine? Did you have different favourites to me? Sound off in the comments

Cesca X

6 thoughts on “Birchbox UK review – September

  1. Hey 🙂

    Okay, that’s a wonderful bundle of products right there!

    That exfoliant seems incredible! 😀 And that is quite a large packaging! Woo!!

    When I saw the Benefit sample, I was like: ‘Yeahhh!’ and then I read that it actually turned out terrible and… well, blah!

    That Tangle Teezer knock off seems quite good and you’re so lucky you don’t get knots haha! 😀

    Lovlely post!

    Have a nice day. 🙂

    xx

    Like

  2. Hey, thanks for reading (and taking the time to comment!).
    Do you get birchbox?
    I was so disappointed with the benefit sample but at least I won’t waste my money on it now so silver linings.
    I’m lucky with the knots, but my hair is so slippery it also refuses to hold most styles, it just slips right out of buns or anything that isn’t a basic ponytail.
    X

    Like

    1. Birchbox is good but I find they can be a bit hit and miss. Sometimes I love my box and sometimes I wonder what on earth they were thinking!
      The great thing about Birchbox is the points, so every box gets you 12 points and a review on each item is 5 points. 100 points = £10 to spend in their shop.
      X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

