Beauty · Beauty boxes

Look Fantastic Box – September

IMG_3862

September is a popular month with beauty boxes. Look Fantastic are celebrating their birthday (just like Birchbox). It’s their one year anniversary and they’ve curated an extra special box.

Look Fantastic sept

As you can see it’s pretty jam packed with goodies. Let’s take them one at a time and go in for a closer look…

IMG_3873

Codage’s scrubbing cream is a gem. You apply it to dry skin in circular motions and then slowly add water, which changes the consistency completely. It makes my skin feel totally smooth but also wonderfully soft.
I keep reading that the future is chemical exfoliators but I love a good old fashioned scrub.

IMG_3870

These two little babies are the Strengthen and Repair shampoo and conditioner from the Professional Sebastian range.You don’t need me to tell you how to use them.
Suffice to say they smell amazing and leave my hair squeaky clean and soft.
I love that Look Fantastic have actually included both the shampoo and conditioner in the same box too. It’s nice to be able to test out the set together.

IMG_3868

In keeping with the hair theme, this is a keratine hair mask from Phyto. The sample feels very luxurious as it comes in a weighty glass bottle with gold trim. There are no instructions as to how to use this in the information card or on the bottle so I had to have a quick google to check I was doing it right. Apply in the shower after washing your hair. Leave for 5-10 minutes and rinse. Easy peasy.
I thought it was alright, the formula was runnier than I was expecting and I needed quite a bit to cover the ends of my hair properly. I also didn’t think there was any noticeable improvement over my usual conditioner so I wasn’t too impressed with this one.

IMG_3869

This moisturiser from Tanworx is labelled as a tan maintainer. If I actually had a tan this year I’d love to try it out. As it is I can only really evaluate it as a moisturser.
It’s a generous sized sample with a subtle smell, but I found it left my skin feeling like there was a layer of residue everywhere I rubbed it in. Plus I didn’t find it that moisturising.
I find the best thing for prolonging my tan after a holiday is good old cocoa butter, and I won’t be switching based on this.

IMG_3875

I thought I’d include the Caudalie samples together as they are both part of the vinosource range. I’ve had my fair share of Caudalie samples as the brand is a favourite over at Birchbox and they’re good. I’ve never been completely wowed but I find they do what it says on the packaging.
These samples are the S.O.S thirst quenching serum, and the Moisturizing sorbet.
The moisturiser is lovely, it sinks in quickly and has a very faint fresh smell. The serum smells exactly the same and should be used before the moisturiser morning and night, however I stopped using it in the mornings as I found it didn’t sink in very quickly and I don’t have time to be sitting around waiting for skincare products to soak in before I can put my makeup on.

IMG_3876

And last but not least is the Fabulous foaming facial wash from bliss. I love this little bottle, I’ve already had exactly the same sample in a birchbox a few months ago but I thought it was wonderful so I’m very happy with an extra. It’s a face wash that gently exfoliates and leaves your skin feeling squeaky clean, but without any tightness. It smells amazing! This is probably my favourite sample in the whole box.

And there you have it, a bumper box of goodies to celebrate a whole year of Look Fantastic boxes. The September box is still available for £15 and I think this is one month where it’s definitely worth it!

Does anyone else get the Look Fantastic box?

Cesca X

Leave a Reply

