Beauty · Beauty boxes

the Box (Cult beauty box by Caroline Hirons)

Hi everyone,
I mentioned a while ago that there was a big post coming on the Cult beauty box, curated by Caroline Hirons and here it is!
(Sorry it’s taken a while, I’ve been away on business for two weeks and just moved house so have no internet- it all happens at once.)

This is a super deluxe box of beauty goodies designed to keep your skin luminous and glowing. The box is pretty pricey at £100 but I saw a review for the last one and just had to try it out for myself, it really was like Christmas day when it arrived.

The box is now sold out 😦 but if you’re interested in the next one the sign up to be notified can be found here.
And now…on with the review

IMG_3796

As a quick reminder, the box contains:

  • Odacite’s Hydration Serum Concentrate (full size)
  • Alpha-H Essential Hydration Cream
  • Pixi’s Glow Tonic (full size)
  • Pommade Divine Nature’s Remedy Balm (full size)
  • REN’s Vita Mineral Omega 3 Optimum Skin Serum
  • RMS Beauty’s Raw Coconut Cream (full size)
  • SkinOwl’s Eye + (full size)
  • skyn ICELAND’s Pure Cloud Cleanser (full size)

IMG_3826

The first thing I noticed was the size of this thing, it’s huge! As it had to be for all those full sized samples that were included. Over the past few weeks I’ve been trying them all out and finding my favourites among them and I’m finally ready to spill the beans on what works, what doesn’t work and if I think it was worth it.
So without further ado…the samples!

IMG_3814

The first sample I tested was a hot cloth cleanser from Icelandic brand Skyn. Massage into dry skin, wet cloth under hot water and rub off. I always rinse the cloth in cold water and give myself a final rinse with that to seal the pores shut.
It’s a very gentle cleanser, but the formula doesn’t get into your skin the way my Eve Lom one does, however it is a fraction of the price and I found it quite comparable to the Liz Earle hot cloth cleanser in terms of effectiveness and gentleness. All in all it’s a lovely product that I enjoy using but I won’t be repurchasing because I have my favourites already.

IMG_3805

The next product I tried was SkinOwl’s Eye + gel. Containing Hyalauronic acid, periwinkle and licorice. It is meant to be cooling and refreshing but I actually feel a little tingle and warmth when I gently pat it in, I’m not sure that that’s a good thing but I’ve not had any redness or itchiness so I think it’s alright. This is a full sized product and it will last forever. So far I’ve only used the amount that was on the underside of the lid, there’s still a whole untouched pot to go.
I haven’t really noticed any difference but the eyes aren’t really a problem area for me. I do think it makes them look less puffy if I haven’t had a lot of sleep so it’s a thumbs up from me.

IMG_3808

Next out of the box was the Glow tonic by Pixi. I’ve seen this one mentioned all over the blogosphere so I was very excited to get my hands on a full sized bottle.

It’s lovely, the packaging is cute, it smells really nice and it feels like adding an extra layer of polish when you swipe it all over after cleansing. I really like this one and am using up the toner I currently have as fast as I can so I can give it pride of place on my nightstand.

IMG_3817

Next up is Nature’s remedy Balm by Pommade Divine. I have to admit I don’t really see the point of all purpose balms. Supposedly for chapped lips, cracked cuticles or dry areas of skin, I find it a bit thick for my skin and I have lovely serums and moisturisers that do their specific job much better.
If you’re going away and want to pack light I can see one product instead of about 4 being an advantage but I just don’t find this product very useful. Maybe as we move into winter, which is much harsher on my skin I’ll find this balm can play more of a role in my skincare.

Another product I wasn’t too impressed with in the box is the Raw Coconut Cream from RMS beauty.

IMG_3820

This is basically just coconut oil, but according to the product listing it has been extracted with a special technique which is designed to keep the lauric acid intact.
Lauric acid comprises almost half of the fatty acid content in coconut oil so I struggle to believe that normal processes won’t still retain plenty of it and a quick search says the same thing; you can find lauric acid in all coconut oils.
So this sample has all the benefits that coconut oil is meant to bring but there’s really no need to buy it from this brand as far as I can see.
As for uses, the card in the box suggests it as a cleanser or moisturiser for skin. This is fine and it works, although leaves my skin feeling quite greasy, but as I mentioned above; I already have great cleansers and moisturisers for my skin. So I have no desire to use coconut oil instead. It’s a bit like the balm above, a product that does nothing really well but a bit of everything.

In contrast, Odacite’s Hydration Serum Concentrate is an absolute wonder product.

Odacite hydration serum

Anyone who has read a few of my blog posts know what a sucker I am for a pipette dispenser (what can I say? It must be the chemist in me!)
This little vial is seriously hydrating. You add two drops to your usual moisturiser in your palm, mix it around a bit and then apply your moisturiser as usual. For a real hit of moisture you can apply the serum neat to dry skin, just rub in well.

It soaks right in and will make your skin feel so much softer and healthier. There’s a whole range of serums with different properties and you can blend and mix them for a truly personalised skincare regime. I definitely want to invest in a few more of these but at around £30 for 5ml they don’t come cheap!

Another product I love from this box is the Alpha H Essential Hydration Cream.

Alpha H Hydration cream

I use this moisturiser morning and evening and I absolutely love it. It sinks straight in, leaves my skin feeling totally supple and soft and blends really well with the hydration serum concentrate above in the evenings for an extra shot of moisture.
It does have a very distinct smell, I’m not sure what it is exactly but it reminds me of the dentist, which isn’t a nice thing really but does have associations of cleanliness and medicine with it. You get used to the smell but that’s the only bit about this sample I don’t like. For a really great, all round moisturiser you can’t go wrong with this.

The last sample is the Vita Mineral Omega 3 Optimum Skin Serum (try saying that three times really fast) from REN.

IMG_3809

This is just a mini sample, but a little goes a long way so it’s not a bad sample size. This night time serum promises to prevent against premature aging, create a barrier to free radical attack and renew suppleness and elasticity.
I’ve been giving it a go for almost a month now, alternating with a glycolic acid serum at night and I can’t say I’ve really noticed much difference but this is a preventative product. It protects you from future damage so I think it’s worth continuing anyway. It doesn’t upset my skin and leaves it feeling nice and supple and if I’ll get less wrinkles in the future it’s all good for me.

And that’s it for the box! I can’t believe how long I’ve been using the products for already. Apart from the balm and the coconut oil they are all part of my daily skincare routine now, I can’t imagine being without them. Luckily most are full sized so they will keep me going for much much longer.
I’ve already signed up for the next box, it can’t hurt to see what’s included before deciding whether to buy right?

Until next time.

Cesca X

10 thoughts on “the Box (Cult beauty box by Caroline Hirons)

Leave a Reply

