Adventures

Longleat Festival of Lights

Hello everyone and Happy New Year!
I’ve been pretty quiet over the festive period but there’s been a lot going on, including a trip to Iceland last week with my boyfriend.
Today’s post is a bit of a throwback though to December, which was J’s birthday. I saw they were hosting a festival of lights at Longleat Safari Park and as neither of us had ever been, we decided to go check it out.

Our first stop was ice-skating by the main house.

2015-12-12 11.37.45

It may not look it in this picture but the rink was tiny and there were too many people on it really. Plus the unseasonably warm weather meant the ice was very melty (technical term) and if you fell over it would essentially be into one giant puddle.
So although I really really love ice skating, I’d probably give it a miss if I went again.

Neither of us hit the floor though so once our hour was up, we were off to see the animals bruise-free and with our egos intact.

We took a boat out to see if the gorillas wanted to say hi, but they were safely snuggled up indoors. The sea lions are always keen for a chinwag though.

They came speeding over as soon as they caught sight of us. Soon we were hanging out like old friends.

Our next stop was to see some of my favourites, the penguins.
They’re so funny, and can just wander around your feet through penguin shaped holes in the fence which I thought was pretty cool.

2015-12-12 12.48.47

(I love the action shot of the last one hitting the water)

We also faced our fears in the handling area. No one who knows me can quite believe this happened!

I genuinely think house spiders are scarier, as they run so bloomin’ fast.

As you can see, one of us was less keen to meet Hermione the snake.

So I could save my car from abuse by the monkeys we had booked seats on a safari tour bus to see the rest of the animals. It was a wise choice, let me tell you that now.
A word of advice if you do go, sit on the left hand side, upstairs. We were on the right and on the wrong side for most of the animals.
The monkeys were hilarious pulling off people’s wing mirrors and parking sensors, but that sort of thing is only funny when it’s not your car!

The lions were also pretty amazing.

The animals are so close, it’s really something special to see. I would recommend it to anyone. Just avoid the monkeys in your own car.

As the daylight started to fade our attention turned to the other main attraction.

2015-12-12 16.03.13

The lanterns are absolutely stunning. And they just get more and more beautiful as it gets darker.

2015-12-12 16.01.29

There’s so much to see, and the Chinese show is worth a look in too if you get time.

I saw on twitter today that the festival of lights has been extended until the weekend due to popular demand, so if you’re stuck for something to do this weekend I can think of one thing…

Fran X

 

Leave a Reply

