Beauty · Beauty boxes

February Glossybox 2016

Happy February guys,
This month those lovely people at Glossybox have vowed to introduce us to our beauty soulmates in this special Valentines box.

DSC_0196

DSC_0195

I love their one-off themed boxes and this one doesn’t disappoint – it’s gorgeous! But do the contents match the claims? Is this box full of my new beauty soulmates? Click through to find out!

There were two big items that grabbed my attention in this month’s box. The first was the Naobay protective hair mask and volume conditioner.

DSC_0200

This luxury size product is 200ml so will keep you going for a while. I used it in the shower this evening and it smells wonderful. Very fresh and clean. There’s also something I can’t quite put my finger on, maybe ginger or citrus? I’m terrible at sorting smells in my head. (If you can enlighten me in the comments please do)
This has left my hair feeling super soft and conditioned so it’s a big thumbs up from me.

The second item I noticed was the Wilkinson sword Hydro silk razor.

DSC_0203

I think it’s a bit of an odd choice for a Glossybox if I’m completely honest. Razors aren’t exactly glamorous, or the kind of thing I want to sample but they are pretty vital to most of our getting ready routines so I suppose I can get on board. As long as they don’t start sending me one every few months.
Another one that was easy to test out in the shower tonight, it was fine. The head can be detached so I guess you can buy replacement heads when this one is fnished but I already have a Venus razor that I’m pretty attached to so I won’t be switching allegiances.

The third sample this month was a pair of tweezers from the Vintage Cosmetic Company.

DSC_0197

These are seriously cute. I love that the packaging matches the print. I’ve given them a whirl and they seem like good quality tweezers. I had no trouble grabbing hairs and they didn’t slip. I think they’ll look great in my makeup bag.

The last two samples were hidden away under all the other packaging but I loved them both. First up is a lipgloss from MUA (Make up academy). We last saw this brand in November’s Glossybox where we received a brilliant eyeshadow palette that is a fabulous dupe for the Urban Decay Naked palette.

DSC_0205

This lipgloss is another great product. It smells like coconut and is very moisturising on the lips. Glossybox have sent it out in one of 6 shades and I received Hush, which is totally neutral but with a little bit of shimmer. Perfect for natural days when all you want is a slick of gloss and a swipe of mascara but also fabulous layered up with a strong lip colour. MUA have really impressed me with what I’ve seen so far so although the gloss is only £3.50 in shops I’m very happy with it.

My last sample this month is a 24 hour waterproof eyeliner from Nicka K New York.

DSC_0209

It comes with a little sharpener and a built in smudger (technical term) so is everything you need on the go. I hadn’t heard of this brand before but I’m very impressed with the eyeliner. It really doesn’t budge once it’s on and actually glides on very smoothly.

DSC_0210

You can use the tip for a precision line or the side for wider lines (little bit of Hush gloss above the liner there too).
It’s a great find a I didn’t have a non-budge brown eyeliner and now I do.

This month’s box contained 4 full sized items and one luxury sized conditioner that is very generous, I liked most of my samples very much although I felt that the razor wasn’t a very good fit. All in all it was still a great box though, just maybe send some skincare my way next month eh Glossybox?

Did your box differ from mine? What did you think of this month’s offerings?

Cesca X

 

 

3 thoughts on “February Glossybox 2016

Leave a Reply

