Beauty · Beauty boxes

April Glossybox 2016

Hi Glossy fans,
I’m very behind on this review as my Glossybox arrived ages ago. However I’ve been in Switzerland the past week for work and forgot to upload my photos so no review writing.
I wasn’t very impressed with this month’s box, but let’s take a closer look and you can make up your own minds.

DSC_0196

DSC_0198

So April’s box was titled Spring Preening and they seemed to vary between customers quite a bit. I received:

  • Leighton Denny Miracle Mist, nail varnish drying spray
  • Swiss Smile Whitening toothpaste
  • The Body Shop Oils of Life – Facial Oil
  • Studio 10 Brow Lift Perfecting Liner
  • Next Lip Chubby in Cherry Red

First up is the Miracle Mist from Leighton Denny.

DSC_0203

It’s funny as I have only just bought a similar product from Kiko, so now I have two nail varnish setting sprays. I had already tried the Kiko one and found it wasn’t really doing much but I was hopeful of better results from this product. Unfortunately I didn’t think it any better than the cheaper version.
I love painting my nails and if these sprays worked the way I hoped they would they would be the perfect products for me by cutting down the waiting times between each layer of varnish but they only seem to set the very surface of the nail varnish. So I think it’s almost worse than just waiting for your nail varnish to dry naturally as it feels like it might be dry but the underneath is still wet and the second you touch something it just smears right off.

The next sample I tried was the Body Shop facial oil.

DSC_0207I think Glossybox have been a little cheeky here as the back of the bottle says free sample. I feel a bit cheated getting a sample in a box I’ve paid for that I could have had for free if I asked in the shop.
The oil itself is okay, it smells quite nice and does leave my skin feeling supple but not exactly moisturised. So if you have dry skin you will need a moisturiser first. I also find it doesn’t soak in very well so it’s very much a product to apply in the evenings rather than in the morning before putting on makeup as it will slide right off your face.
I definitely won’t be purchasing this after it’s gone as I’ve tried much nicer face oils before.

My third sample this month was the Studio 10 brow liner and highlighter pencil.

DSC_0211

This was totally useless to me. Partly because I have no need to pencil in my brows, they are very dark and well defined naturally and partly because even if I did the colour is all wrong. It is way too light to match my natural eyebrows.
I tried the highlighter end and that wasn’t very good either. It was quite clumpy and not very smooth to apply. It scratched my skin as I tried to get it to rub off on my brow bone and left me with more redness than highlight.
Not impressed at all.

Next up was the toothpaste from Swiss Smile.DSC_0204

The sample is full sized, and costs £28.95!
A crazy amount to pay for toothpaste in  my opinion.
I’ve been using it since the box arrived, so a few weeks now, and can’t say I’ve noticed any difference in the whiteness of my teeth. So another product from this month’s box that was pretty useless.

My last sample this month was the chubby stick from Next in Cherry Red.

DSC_0206

The packaging feels quite cheap, but it has a twist up bottom which I always appreciate over one that needs to be sharpened. The formula itself is also really nice. It glides on and is very moisturising on my lips, leaving them soft and supple which is vital when you’re wearing a strong red shade like this.
I actually really like this lip colour, I’m thinking about checking out the other shades available. It’s also only £8 so is the cheapest thing my box this month but definitely the best.

I really hope Glossybox is a bit more exciting next month otherwise I’m going to have to start looking around for some other monthly subscriptions.
What did you get in your box this month? And what did you think?
Am I being a bit too harsh?

I’d love to know your thoughts in the comments!

signature

X

 

4 thoughts on “April Glossybox 2016

    1. Thank you 🙂
      I’m glad to know I wasn’t the only one feeling a bit down on this month’s box.
      I like the look of your moisturiser, is it any good?
      I was chatting to someone on Instagram who received transfer tattoos which is another weird choice. I think I’ll stick with my nail spray!
      X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

