Beauty boxes

the Box (Cult beauty box with Caroline Hirons)

Hi Guys,
This is the third box Cult beauty have put out with Caroline Hirons, and the second I have ordered. I didn’t manage to get the first wave but then they released some more that shipped in February and I lucked on to one of those.

I’ve been loving some of the products in here so so much, and because it’s such a massive box I wanted to use everything for a while before reviewing. Let me recap the contents for you.

DSC_0201

(Just posting the picture reminds me of how excited I was when this arrived!)
The box contains:

  • Emma Hardie Moringa Cleansing Balm
  • Zelens PHA Bio-peel Resurfacing facial pads
  • Therapie Himalayan Detox Salts
  • Tata Harper Rejuvenating Serum
  • Dr Dennis Gross Ferulic + Retinol Eye Cream
  • May Lindstrom The Blue Cocoon

Everything in this box is full sized, which is amazing as samples are often quite hard to make a decision with. Plus they have all been approved by Lady Hirons herself so you can be sure you’re getting your money’s worth.
The box is a ready made routine to look after your skin and all the products are in my daily arsenal now.

DSC_0218

First up, the Emma Hardie cleanser. Now I don’t love this as much as I hoped I would but I still use it every day. Let me explain.
I have been converted to adding a double cleanse step to my evening routine and I like to do this as soon as I get in from work. This cleanser is amazing at removing all traces of makeup which makes it the perfect first cleanse.
My problem with it is I never feel like it all comes off on the cloth and it tastes horrible so avoid getting it on your lips! Using it as part of a double cleanse removes those problems though. I like to follow up with my Skyn Iceland Pure Cloud Cleanser.
Hello baby soft and totally clean skin without any tightness or ‘squeaky’ feeling.

DSC_0225

Step two. These Zelens acid pads are really handy for travel as they don’t count as a liquid, plus no carting around big bottles and cotton wool pads. They aren’t the strongest acids out there but that makes them suitable for anyone and everyday use.
I like to alternate these with my Pixi Glow Tonic when I fancy something a bit stronger. They are pretty pricey (£65 for 50 pads!) so I won’t be repurchasing as I know I can find a similar product for much cheaper.

DSC_0229

Next up, eye cream by Dr Gross.
The box claims it hydrates, firms and strengthens the under eye area and I agree completely. I like this so much more than the Skin Owl eye cream I’ve been using from the last box. The texture is like a rich cream which feels amazing but also soaks in really quickly and I swear any bags under my eyes look reduced straight away (and there have been more of them than I’m comfortable with recently).I don’t have any wrinkles around my eyes (obviously I don’t smile enough) but I believe Caroline when she says it plumps those out too.

DSC_0233

A really good serum is something that has escaped me up until now, so I was pleased the Tata Harper Rejuvenating Serum was in the box.
Although it pains me to say, I think it’s time to start including some anti-aging products in my routine and this serum is designed to fortify the skin whilst reducing wrinkles and fine lines.
It sinks in beautifully, smells wonderful and is perfect for both AM and PM.
I use it every day now without fail.

DSC_0240

Last of the skincare products now, this May Lindstrom balm is probably my least used product from the box. For some reason I never think to go to it although it is great for stressed skin. I don’t dislike it, I actually think it feels wonderful to massage in and it’s so beautiful. It smells lovely and isn’t heavy, which I was worried about the first time I used it (some balms I’ve tried before feel like they leave a thick layer of residue). In fact as I’ve written this I’ve moved this little pot to my nightstand so I won’t forget about it any more.

Last up are these Himalayan detox salts from Therapie. They are such a pretty pink colour and smell incredible! I don’t have baths a lot and it’s such a treat to chuck these in with the running water and just bask in the warmth and breathe the scented steam in deeply.
I don’t think I can really get behind the detox claims as I wouldn’t say they have a better effect than a warm bath and some nice smellies from anywhere else but if you don’t really go in for the whole pink/blue water and GLITTER that you get from a Lush bath bomb then these might be for you. (I’m not dissing Lush – I love those guys. I’ve never felt more like a glittery mermaid than after the twilight bomb).

And that’s it. I was so impressed with the contents of this box and it’s really helped me to develop my skincare routine. Thanks Caroline!
If anyone else bought this box I would love to hear from you, I have so many new brands that I want to explore in more detail now.

signature

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “the Box (Cult beauty box with Caroline Hirons)

Leave a Reply

