Beauty · Beauty boxes

The Cult Beauty Box by Caroline Hirons (Cleansing Edition)

In keeping with my last post that was much later than it should be, I’ve finally got around to writing up my thoughts on the most recent Cult Beauty collab with Caroline Hirons.
This is the fourth Cult Beauty Box I’ve bought and the third that has been curated by the Lady Hirons.
(For previous boxes see here, here and here.)

This box is alllll about the cleansers, come on in for the full list of contents.

Cult beauty Caroline Hirons 1

 

Cult beauty caroline hirons 2

Cult beauty Caroline Hirons cleansing box full contents

The box contains:

  • Tata Harper Nourishing Oil Cleanser (full size)
  • Pixi Nourishing Cleansing Balm (full size)
  • May Lindstrom The Jasmine Garden Facial Spray (full size)
  • Oskia Micro Exfoliating Balm (full size)
  • MV Organic Skincare Gentle Cream Cleanser (full size)
  • Sonya Dakar Eye Wash (full size)
  • Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare Ferulic and Retinol Wrinkle Recovery Peel (8 sachets)

The total cost of the items in the box is a whopping £274!
(based on the costs I found while searching Google and working on ‘half size’ for the sachets as a full pack has 16).

So, now I’ve had a chance to use the products for a good long while what do I think of them?

Tata Harper Nourishing Oil cleanser

The Nourishing Cleanser is an oil based formulation and so is very good at removing eye makeup and the rest of the grime from the day. I like to use it first in my evening cleanse but also in the mornings as it is very moisturising too and unlike some oily cleansers actually comes off easily with a cloth and leaves no residue.
The only negative to this cleanser that I can see is the packaging. It looks lovely but the pump is very problematic. Cult beauty sent myself and lots of other customers new ones as we thought they were a bad batch that jammed all the time but my replacement is just as useless. It takes quite a lot of wiggling and pressure to get any product out most days.

Pixi Nourishing Cleansing Balm 1

Pixi Nourishing cleansing balm 2

The Nourishing Cleansing Balm from Pixi is another oily cleanser. It starts as a balm in the tub that melts in your hands to an oil. It works wonders at getting makeup off but this one is less easy to remove with a cloth, I always feel like it leaves a residue so for that reason I only use it as a first cleansing step and never by itself really.
It does however have a lovely floral scent that I love.

May Lindstrom facial spray

This facial spray is another one that smells gorgeous! I still don’t quite ‘get’ spritzes, I know they are good for sealing in moisture and as a pick me up during the day but I always forget about them. If any spray can persuade me it’s this one.
It has such a lovely fine mist, and the packaging is beautiful, although quite heavy and made of glass so not great for carrying around with you during the day. But every time I do remember to use it with my toning step I love it.

Oskia Micro exfoliating balm

This next product is a bit of a step away from the usual advice from CH which is all “acid exfoliate or suffer my wrath” it’s actually a balm containing MSM (methylsulfonylmethane. I had to google it too) and silica beads (no polymer micro beads) so gives a classic physical exfoliation.
It’s so fine that you don’t feel the ‘scratchy-ness’ that usually comes with physical exfoliators, but there’s something about this one that stings my skin. As I go to wash it off it starts to smart a bit all over so I don’t use this product very often, just when I need a real deep cleanse and scrub.

MV organic skincare Gentle cream cleanser

This creamy cleanser from MV Organic skincare isn’t my favourite one from the box but I do like it when I’m feeling something a bit less oily and a bit gentle for my skin. It’s quite nice as a second cleanse after the Pixi balm or in the mornings when there isn’t much dirt to get off my face.

Sonya Dakar eye wash

I’m not going to lie to you, I kind of thought this next one was totally pointless, who needs a cleanser just for your eyes?!
Especially one that costs £32.
And to continue with my brutal honesty I still think it’s pointless. I know the eyes are the most delicate part of our skin, and I know we load them with the most (and toughest to remove) makeup! But there are so many cleansers out there that remove eye makeup perfectly well, including the ones mentioned above so this is the product that has had the least use out of them all. Why add another step when my makeup is already gone from the first one? I don’t have time for that kind of nonsense.

Dr Dennis Gross pads

This last one is the only non-full size item in the box. It contains half the number of sachets of a full size pack.
It is an acid peel with extras basically, the ferulic acid and retinol help to accelerate cell renewal, correct pigmentation and restore skin tone.
I do actually think I’ve seen a bit of a difference with these so I recommend them if you fancy something that really works. Use twice a week in the evenings on totally clean skin.

Aaaaand there you have it. It was a massive box of goodies to get through and I’m really glad I ordered it because I’ve discovered so many new cleansers and I’m starting to get to grips with selecting the right one for any specific day’s skin. I think the future is different cleansers for different days depending on how your skin is doing rather than a one bottle fits all approach.

The box is actually still available here and is £175 but as I said earlier the cost of the products individually is much more than that. If you order it let me know! If you already have it what did you think?

Until next time

signature
X

6 thoughts on “The Cult Beauty Box by Caroline Hirons (Cleansing Edition)

    1. Hi Jess thanks for reading. I was really pleased with it but yeah it was a lot of money. If I was going to recommend just one product from the box it would be the Tata Harper cleanser if only they could sort their pump out.
      X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

