Beauty · Empties

August Empties

August Empties, beauty review

Hey Everyone,
It’s been a while since I posted an empties update but there were a few products last month that were so good I felt I had to come on the internet and rave about them! :p

Five empties this month and starting clockwise from the top right they are:

  • Zelens – PHA+ Bio-peel Resurfacing Facial Pads
  • Therapie – Himalayan Detox Salts
  •  Talika – Photo-hydra day
  • Maria Nila – Luminous Colour Masque
  • Bee Good – Plump and Firm Moisturiser

If we take them one-by-one we get to start with my favourite, yay!

dsc_0508

These Zelens pads were in my Caroline Hirons collab with Cult Beauty box. They were perfect for travel, which comes in handy as I’m off to see my boyfriend every other weekend. Plus they were gentle but effective. I alternated them with some stronger acids which is why they lasted me such a long time but I felt like they made a difference to my skin by keeping it exfoliated and unclogged without overdoing it on the acids.
They are pretty pricey so I’m not sure about re-purchasing just yet. I’m going to give some slightly cheaper offerings a go like these or these first but I’m totally sold on the concept.

Next up are the most luxurious bath salts I think I’ve ever seen.

Therapie Himalayan detox salts

These were in the same box as the Zelens pads above but I’m less convinced. A bottle of these will set you back £38, which seems very excessive for some salt with aromatherapy oils in.
Plus I couldn’t really smell the scent in the bath anyway. All things considered, I’ll stick to my pretty, glittery Lush bath bombs. In my opinion these aren’t worth the money, and if you want the detoxing effects of himalayan salt you can find it on Amazon for less than £5.

Talk Photo-hydra day

Moving on to the moisturiser from Talika that I received in my October Glossybox last year. Wow that was a long time ago, it just goes to show how much moisturiser I was getting between Glossybox and Birchbox as it’s almost taken me a year to get round to using it up.
It’s all gone now though, and the first thing I noticed was that the tube wasn’t full at all so it didn’t take me a very long time to finish it. The texture was a little bit more watery than I like in a moisturiser but it did the job. I also think it’s silly that a moisturiser that encourages you to get out in the sun by telling you that it uses sunlight to stimulate the product to moisturise deeply doesn’t contain any SPF.
I wouldn’t buy it when I’ve tried so many superior moisturisers but I was happy to finish it up. You might like to know I’m now out of moisturiser samples too so do your worst Glossybox – I have space again.

Another of my favourite products was the hair masque from Maria Nila that came in my September Glossybox last year.

dsc_0505

This one has only lasted so long because I was sparing with it and tried to make it keep going as long as I could. I adore the smell of this and it made my hair smell amazing for a long time afterwards.
I’d only ever really tried Aussie deep conditioners before this and they always left my hair feeling really dull and weighted down but I didn’t have those problems with this product. My hair was super soft and shiny but still light and swishy. (I sound like a ridiculous advert now, just swishing my hair around like a nutter).
In a nutshell, I love it. Definitely repurchasing soon.

The final empty this month is another moisturiser.

Bee Good Plump and Firm moisturiser

This Bee Good moisturiser is from my May Glossybox this year. It had a nice thickness and consistency but the smell was what really put me off. It smelt very strongly of citrus but the kind of citrus smell you get in floor cleaners and the like. It wasn’t a good thing to have in your mind whilst you are rubbing it all over your face. I also thought it was an odd choice as it’s a product marketed around bees. A honey or vanilla scent would have been more fitting in my opinion.
Probably not a repurchase, it’s another one that just seemed like a bit of a generic moisturiser.

And there we have it. Short and sweet I know, but the acid pads and hair mask are seriously so good. Have you tried any of these products? What did you think?
signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

