Beauty · Empties

September Empties

dsc_0082

Can you guys believe it’s October already?! I cracked a scarf out this week as there was a definite chill in the air in the mornings.
I’ve had a lovely couple of weekends dragging out my birthday celebrations for as long as possible so I’m a little bit later than I planned with this post but better late than never right?

This month I’ve finished off 5 products:

  • HydraQuench face mask from Clarins
  • Oils of life sample from The Body Shop
  • Rejuvenating serum by Tata Harper
  • Supersize Fat Lash mascara by Collection 
  • Hide the Blemish concealer by Rimmel

My favourite by far was the serum by Tata harper.

Tata Harper Rejuvenating serum

This came in my Cult Beauty and Caroline Hirons box back in May. The serum has lasted a really long time with almost daily use because a little goes a really long way. It smells lovely and soaks right in plus it is designed to reduce wrinkles and fine lines, which I’m feeling particularly conscious about as I’m now firmly in the late twenties age bracket. It’s pricey at £80 for 30ml but serums generally are and I think it’s worth repurchasing.

My second favourite product this month was the concealer from Rimmel.

Rimmel, Hide the blemish concealer

I had cause to use this a lot this month as my skin had a really rough patch. I got strict with my routine and it seems to be back to normal now but I wanted a cheap but effective concealer that I could use every day and use quite a lot of and this did the job so well that I’ve already repurchased.
I use it in 103 – Soft Honey and at only £3.99 you can’t go wrong really.

One sample I have taken a really long time to finish is the HydraQuench face mask from Clarins.

HydraQuench Cream-mask, Clarins

I originally picked this up in my Birchbox at Selfridges box this time last year. I wasn’t really a fan of it after using a few times. It feels like a really thick face cream that you don’t rub in and then wipe off after ten minutes rather than a traditional face mask.
I didn’t really think it had any effect on my skin, and it felt no different after using it. I usually really like Clarins but this one is a no go for me.

There were two samples that I really didn’t like. The first of these was the Supersize Fat Lash mascara from Collection.

Collection, Super Size Fat Lash mascara

This was in my July Glossybox this year and I waited a month or two to start using it whilst I finished off some others. It’s not bad when you first put it on but doesn’t seem to set and just smudges all over my face throughout the day. I didn’t get anywhere near using it up but I was just so fed up with how useless it was that I’ve decided to throw it away.

The last sample is the Oils of Life sample that came in my April Glossybox.

The Body Shop, Oils of Life

This is another one I didn’t bother to finish as I just wasn’t a fan. It doesn’t soak in very well and just sits on the surface of my skin, so it’s impossible to use in the mornings as I can’t put any makeup on top without it sliding off. It smells okay but there is no moisturising feel to it and I have much nicer products that I would prefer to use.

And that’s it for September’s empties! Has anyone tried any of these products? Or does anyone have any mascara suggestions? I’m still looking for ‘the one’.
I’m hoping my October Glossybox will arrive tomorrow so check back for my review of that later this week.

Until then,
signature

 

2 thoughts on “September Empties

  1. Great review, I agree on the mascara and oils of life. I thought the oils of life was too greasy, heavy and Judy didn’t suit me skin (dry) it just sat there like chip fat 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

