Beauty · Beauty boxes

Limited Edition: Wendy Rowe for Glossybox

Limited Edition: Wendy Row for Glossybox

Hi everyone, after a pretty disappointing Glossybox this month I needed something to perk me up and oh look (!) a limited edition Glossybox, designed by Wendy Rowe that just happened to fall through the post box.
This was £35 as I’m a glossy box subscriber (it’s £40 if you’re not) and the value of the box is over £138 so I was expecting great things.

Limited Edition, Wendy Rowe Glossybox contents

The box is jam packed with 10 items, so it felt a bit like Christmas had come early as I was unpacking them all. I’ll go through them one by one but here’s a quick overview:

  • Burberry Fresh Glow Luminous Fluid Base (full size)
  • Burberry Lip Velvet (Military Red) (mini)
  • Sisley Paris Black Rose Cream Mask (mini, 10ml)
  • Sarah Chapman Skinesis SOS Spot Stickers (contains 10, full size contains 16)
  • Dermarché Labs Roloxin Lift (sample)
  • Decléor 1000 Grain Body Exfoliator (1/4 of full size, 50ml)
  • Decléor Aroma Confort Moisturising Body Milk (1/5 of full size, 50ml)
  • Decléor Aromessence Néroli Hydrating Oil Serum (1/3 of full size, 5ml)
  • Windle & Moodie Invisible Day and Night Cream (full size)
  • Rodin Olio Lusso Jasmine Neroli Face Oil (mini, 2.5ml)

Burberry fresh glow, luminous fluid base

First up, Burberry Fresh Glow Luminous Fluid Base. This one is full sized and is worth £34, so you’ve already almost paid for the box, it comes in the shade No. 1 – Nude Radiance. I assumed this was a primer but it’s a little bit more versatile than that. It’s an illuminating liquid which you can use that way, or you can mix it with your foundation for a dewy glow (which I love) or just apply on top of foundation as a highlighter. The reflective particles are really small, so there’s no glittery effect, just a natural looking glow.

Burberry Lip Velvet, Military Red

The Burberry lipstick in shade, Military Red is just so cute! I love that there’s still so much attention to detail with something so tiny as the lipstick is still printed with the pattern and real care has been taken with the packaging.
This is a really nice red, especially for the Christmas period and it is almost perfectly designed to pop in a little clutch bag to take to any Christmas parties you might have coming up.

Burberry, Military Red swatch

The full sized product is £26, which is pretty expensive for a lipstick so I don’t think I’ll be rushing out to buy any more of the range, not when my MAC ones do me quite happily thanks, but I’m really pleased to have it in the box and will definitely get plenty of use out of it. Part of me wishes all lipsticks came in these teeny tiny sizes as I never seem to finish one and this time I just might!

Sisley Paris, Black Rose Cream Mask

This face mask is a bit unusual as it’s more like a heavy duty moisturiser. You slather it on and then wait 10-15 minutes. At the end you are just supposed to wipe off any excess, no need to wash your face. However after using it I found there was a heavy residue left on my face that felt quite greasy but a dry cotton pad wouldn’t wipe it off, it just got a bit stuck in the sticky mess. So I wetted the cotton pad with a moisturising spritz and used that to wipe off the excess which worked really well. My face was left feeling really soft and hydrated so I did like it, but at £95.50 for 60ml there’s no way I liked it enough to purchase the full sized tube. (The cheapest I found it was £62 but I wasn’t sure about the website so didn’t want to point you there. Still wouldn’t pay that much anyway) I’ll keep my money and use my concentrated hydration serums in with my moisturisers instead. My skin feels just as nice after using those.

Sarah Chapman Skinesis SOS Spot Stickers

These SOS Spot Stickers from Sarah Chapman are very novel. I absolutely love the idea and they are totally clear so actually pretty discrete if you did want to pop to the shop for some milk (or a bar of chocolate). I haven’t needed to use one yet but there are a few days every month where these will come in really handy for me. The pack contains 10 and a full size pack contains 16 so the value of these is £13.75.
It’s £22 for a full set and I’m actually really excited about them. I love products that have obviously been thought about from a slightly different perspective.

Dermarche Labs, Roloxin lift

I recognise this masque by Dermarché Labs as I’ve received one once before, almost a whole year ago in the December Birchbox of 2015. That was the very last Birchbox I ever received and I’m pleased to say I think I made the right choice in jumping ship in favour of Glossybox. I hadn’t used it yet when I wrote that review as I was saving it for a Christmas or New Years party, and I’m doing the same with this one but at least I can comment on it now.
I remember thinking it was quite a techy product as you have to massage the sachet to activate it before applying although from everything I’ve read I’m not sure what exactly you are ‘activating’. I imagine its just to make sure the silica particles in there are evenly distributed before you smooth it on.
The masque was actually really good. I thought there was a definite reduction in the appearance of my pores and my skin did look and feel a little plumper. It promises to last for up to 24 hours but I think once you wash your face again the effects will disappear so in reality it will be gone by morning.
It’s £50 for ten sachets so this one in the box is worth £5.

I’ve lumped the next two together for this review. They felt a bit like a set.

Decleor, 1000 Grain Exfoliator & Aroma Confort Body Milk

This is the 1000 Grains body exfoliator and the Aroma Comfort body milk from Decléor. The exfoliator is very fruity, you can really smell the grapefruit and I like that. However the scrub has quite large grains which I’m not a huge fan of.
When mixed in with water it emulsifies to give a milky appearance and washes off really easily, and the oils leave my skin feeling nice and soft so it’s a lovely product. I just wish the grains were a little bit smaller and less gritty.
After washing with the exfoliator I coated my arms and legs in the body milk. This has a sweet scent, that is a little bit sleepy so it’s perfect for just before bed and a little bit goes a long way.
These two products are on offer at the moment on the Decléor website. So if you fancy either of them, now’s your chance!
1000 Grain exfoliator £26 £22.10
Aroma Confort body milk £32 £27.20

The next product is from Decléor as well. The Néroli Hydrating Oil Serum is a third of full size so worth £15! The full size product is usually £45 but is also on offer right now for £38.25.

Néroli Hydrating Oil Serum, Decleor I’ve been using this for a few days now and I like it. It has quite a ‘green’ smell, by which I mean it’s quite herbal-y or chlorophyll-y but it’s not unpleasant. The serum leaves my skin feeling nice and soft and very moisturised. It’s not a morning product for me as my skin feels quite slippery after using so I wouldn’t want to apply makeup for a while. I’m putting this on every night before bed.
The only negative I have is to do with the packaging. You only need 3 drops of this at a time, but because the bottle has a wide neck you have to pour it out so you always end up with too much, which wastes it. The product card said this should last a few months but it won’t because there’s no way to measure out a few drops at a time.

Windle & Moodie Invisible day and night cream

This product from Windle & Moodie is a new one for me. At first I thought it was for my skin until I read a bit closer and realised it was a haircare product. This is a hair moisturiser, which can be applied on wet or dry hair and isn’t washed out.
I’ve tried this on both wet and dry hair. Dry is an absolute no no. No matter how well you spread it across your hands first it always clumps in the first piece of hair it comes into contact with and then is almost impossible to evenly distribute throughout the rest. Maybe it’s me but I just end up with greasy looking clumps on the outer surface and no product in the middle.
When I put it on wet it was much easier to spread through my hair but I also didn’t see any effect. The product card says this should give your locks added shine but if I’m honest my hair seems more dull with it in than without.
If you want something to bring health and shine to your hair then I highly recommend the Beauty Protector spray (which I’ve only ever seen in the Birchbox shop) and smells divine! Or the Agave healing oil which I always use when the ends of my hair are starting to get a bit dry and in need of a chop. It easily gives me a few more weeks of swishy shiny hair before I have to get a cut.
Bit of a tangent but to summarise; not a big fan of this one, use something else.

My last product is the Rodin Olio Lusso Jasmine Neroli Face Oil.

Rodin Olio Lusso Jasmine Neroli Face Oil

This is a wonderful product, even with such a mini sample you will get lots of uses as it comes with a little dropper for dosing out a few drops at a time. It smells gorgeous, you can really smell the jasmine and it leaves my skin feeling fabulous. This is one oil that you can use in the mornings as I find it sinks in really quickly. The only drawback to this product is the eye watering price. It’s £105 for 30ml (!) and there’s no way I can justify that.

This box has been really great in regards to beauty discovery, although I do wish that there hadn’t been so many super expensive products as I really can’t afford to buy full sized products of any of the samples I loved. On the other hand you definitely get your money’s worth with the samples. The value of everything in this box is great compared to the price for it.
Apart from the hair product, I like and will be happy to use everything. If you’re looking to treat yourself or a loved one this is the perfect way to do it.
There are still a few of these left so if you’re interested they can be found here, I would definitely recommend it!

I should have my empties post up by the end of the month, and I’m very excited to start opening my ASOS advent calendar as soon as the 1st of December rolls around so lots of things coming up. Until next time.

signature

2 thoughts on “Limited Edition: Wendy Rowe for Glossybox

Leave a Reply

