Beauty · Beauty boxes

January Glossybox ’17

Glossybox Jan '17

Hi Everyone,
This month’s Glossybox was in collaboration with Deliciously Stella who is hilarious over on Instagram and I strongly suggest you check her out. In a world of clean eating and dieting fads she is a refreshing breath of fresh air.
So everything in this month’s ‘The Edible Edit’ is based around the theme of super-food inspired beauty.

I wanted to love this month’s Glossybox but unfortunately they sent me a repeat item. The lipstick is the same as the one I had back in the May Glossybox and when I asked about it on twitter they just told me “we do sometimes” and didn’t offer to send me a replacement which surprised me. I hope it’s not the beginning of the end, because that’s exactly what happened with Birchbox after a while.
Enough my whingeing though, let’s get on with the products…

Vitamasques - Manuka Honey face mask

This mask from Vitamasques is lauded for its hydrating and moisturising qualities. I don’t think you would know it has anything to do with honey if it wasn’t on the packaging. It doesn’t smell and the serum is as thin and runny as any other.
The shape of the face mask was quite good compared to others I’ve tried which have been far too big, I noticed it was a little small across the eyes but still much more comfortable to  wear. My skin felt plump after use so all in all it was a good mask.
The masks are £12.99 on the Vitamasques website for a box of four, which is pretty good as these type of masks are usually around £6-8 each.

Unani - Illuminate Milk Claeanser

The biggest item in this month’s box was a full size Illuminate Milk Cleanser from Unani. This really fits the theme as it smells good enough to eat! I’ve used it for the last few days to cleanse my skin and it works better as a morning cleanser or a second cleanse in the evening because I didn’t think it was very good at removing my makeup. It did leave my skin feeling soft and the smell makes it a real pleasure to use so I’m still happy with it.
This is supposedly worth £14 but it’s pretty hard to find stockists on the internet.

Nip + Fab Kale Fix Moisturiser

This moisturiser from Nip + Fab fits the theme perfectly too as it contains kale and smells just like cucumber. It’s really thick and luxurious feeling, which I wasn’t expecting but is perfect for this biting cold we’re having. The moisturiser costs £14.95 on their website so ignore the RRP of £19.95 on the Glossybox product card. I think it’s a really good product for the price and I will think about repurchasing once I’ve finished it all up.

Absolute New York - Velvet Lippie

Absolute New York - Velvet Lippie

This Velvet Lippie from Absolute New York is the reason for my displeasure this month. It’s a different shade to the one I’ve had before, so if I had liked it last time I might have been quite happy to get another but I wasn’t a fan then and I’m not now. It has no staying power, so if you put it on it will wipe right off again as soon as you touch your lips or drink something. It’s definitely more of a lipgloss than a lipstick in that respect but because it’s meant to be matte it doesn’t really work. It also has a thin formula so you can still see your lips underneath. The RRP for this is £5 but I wouldn’t waste your money.

Meet Matt(e) Trimony eyeshadow

Meet Matt(e) Trimony eyeshadow

The last sample this month is the Meet Matt(e) Trimony eyeshadow from theBalm. I absolutely love their packaging, always do. Everything I’ve ever had from theBalm has been such good quality.
The shade is quite dark, and when I used it it seemed more grey than purple so I think it might be more practical than I first thought. It blends beautifully so will be perfect for a smokey eye. Their eyeshadows are only available as part of a palette so no price for this one but I highly recommend any of their products.

And that’s it for January. Some really good samples in there but I’m just a bit annoyed this month. One; that I got a repeat when there are so many other options that I’ve never tried before and two; that they didn’t even apologise. Hopefully next month is back to business as usual.

Until next time X

signature

13 thoughts on “January Glossybox ’17

  1. I am so happy you mentioned duplicates! I have been with glossybox for 2 years now and noticed recently there is more occasions of duplicates. Last month I received more of those invisibands for my hair. I can’t get over the fact you got no apology! Let’s hope better next time x

    Like

    1. Hi thanks for reading. Did you ask them about your duplicate? What did they say?
      It seems a shame when I know there are lots of things I’ve never had as I look at everyone else’s Glossy boxes online each month. X

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You know I only thought about it properly last week and thought maybe ifs just me. Then I read your post and was like 😳 so glad not alone! I don’t really look at what others get. Otherwise I’m like awww no I prefer that one!!! I am finding more recently the brands are more common (in the sense that I have heard about them or use them) what do you think? I was expected a good box in December but it wasn’t that good. I actually thought Novembers was better x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ahhh I like to snoop and see what else was out there.
        I wasn’t a fan of November’s box at all. I got razors and another eyeshadow brush.
        December’s was better for me but I was expecting a bit more from a Christmas box.
        How was yours this month? X

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I got razors too which were crap! I have got 3 different types now! I was pretty intrigued with the face mask though! And the Rafaello chocolate that actually caused me to buy an eat a whole box at lunch time the next day 🙈 I got pretty much same as you this month. Instead of lipgloss I got those invisible hair bands again 🙄 and a more red shade of eyeshadow. I am hoping next month will be exciting with it being valentines! Omggg and I get so many mail vanishes! What about u? Bit awkward for me as I gel my nails lol xx

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ahh I thought the face mask was so overpriced. Putting gold in the cellulose won’t make any difference!
        And I don’t like coconut so the choc was useless to me. Haha
        I don’t think I get that many nail varnishes…but I like getting them as I paint my nails all the time. Do you get any boxes other than Glossybox?
        X

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Haha I should swap them with you! I have had all different colours now! My nails are poo without gel! That’s so true about the face mask but I hear gold and am like ooooo!! 🙈 I don’t at the minute, I can’t really afford to! I was considering birchbox actually but read form you they also repeat! There are what seems to be some good boxes out there. What about you? X

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I work in a lab all day so the acetone would ruin gels. I figure normal varnish is better as I can take it off and redo easily and cheaply.
        Birchbox do much smaller samples, you get a lot of testers or just slightly bigger and it’s for more expensive brands than you usually see in Glossybox. Their old points system was amazing as it added up to money to spend in the shop really quickly but they don’t have it anymore so I don’t think it’s worth it.
        I’ve tried lookfantastic but had a bit of a nightmare with their customer services. I think I’m better off saving my money tbh.
        I’d quite like to try one where you pick your samples though…
        X

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Awww really sounds like you have a pretty cool job! I wouldn’t of thought birchbox would do smaller samples, that’s pretty disappointing but it makes total sense. I absolutely agree, a nice personalised box each month would literally be a treat. I guess we will have to keep our eyes open for that! Oh no doesn’t sound like you had a good experience with lookfantastic.
        Xz

        Like

      8. Ha thanks. It’s not that interesting when you’re actually doing it.
        There is Latest in Beauty that lets you pick I think but I’m trying to avoid signing up to lots of boxes as I’m trying to save.
        I’m so tempted by cohorted too but there’s no way I could justify the money! X

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Awww just think, helps with money for subscriptions 👍 oh and bills 🙄 lol yesss cohorted looks so glamorous! It’s defiantly going to be hard to justify another box. One day, we will be talking about that and others a like 😊 x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

