Beauty · Beauty boxes

February Glossybox ’17

Glossybox February '17

I was quite annoyed with the people over at Glossybox last month so I had my fingers crossed for a great box this month and I think they’ve delivered the goods. No real theme to this month’s collection of products but that is a gorgeous Valentines box which will be going on the ‘keep’ pile.

I always like to wait until I’ve tested every product before writing up my review and I’ve finally given everything a go so let’s get into it shall we?

Garnier - Ultimate Blends Honey Treasures Strength Restorer Balm

This is the Ultimate Blends Honey Treasures Strength Restorer Balm (which is a bit of a mouth full) in a word it’s a hair mask. I used this in the shower and left it on for 5 mins before rinsing out.
It smells lovely, like honey and vanilla and it left my hair feeling silky smooth, which is pretty impressive at the moment as my ends are a bit dry and need chopping off.
A full sized purchase is 300ml and would cost £3 in Boots right now. Bargain. Go get it.

Ciate - Iced Frappe

This nail varnish from Ciaté is in the shade Iced Frappe. I tried this on the day my box arrived so excuse the slightly chipped picture below, but this is what it looks like on.

Ciate - Iced Frappe swatch

I really like it. I was lazy and didn’t put a top coat on, so I think it has actually held up really well considering. I think the shade will be great going into spring too, plus I have a weakness for these slightly off-nude colours. It’s a bit hit with me.
A pot of this is only £7.20 on Feelunique at the moment (£9 everywhere else) so it’s great to have received a full sized pot in this month’s box.

L'Eau de Rose - Jeanne Arthes

This perfume is L’eau de Rose by Jeanne Arthes and is also full size which is a nice change to the tiny perfume samples you usually get in subscription boxes. It’s not the kind of scent I would usually pick for myself but there are underlying citrus-y notes so I actually liked it more than I thought I would.
As the Glossybox card says, ‘Rose is having a bit of a moment’ and I’m inclined to agree but the rose smell from this doesn’t hang around for very long. Even if you spritz liberally you can’t smell the perfume at all after a few hours so it’s not up to the standard I expect. I’ll stick to my Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb.
According to the product card this is worth £20 but I could only find people selling it on eBay so no link sorry. I wouldn’t recommend it anyway, I don’t hate it but you would need to carry it around with you to reapply throughout the day.

Beat the Blues in Oyster Gold

This little pot of liquid highlighter from Mememe is another full size product in this month’s box. The shade is Oyster Gold and I’ve tried it mixed in with my foundation and blended on top.
The first thing I noticed is that it’s very thick, but it blends really well when mixed in with liquid foundations. The highlight from that was very subtle and just made my skin look a bit glowy. I liked the effect so I’ll definitely be trying that again.
When I tried it on top of my makeup I couldn’t notice the highlight very much, the light had to hit my face at just the right angle. This makes it perfect for a really natural highlight as there’s no sparkle effect. I also like the little brush when you unscrew the lid as that makes applying it much easier. It’s only £7.25 for the full size pot so I think it’s good value for money and ideal if you like a really natural highlight.

Noie Eternae Youth Potion face scrub

The last product in this month’s box is the supposedly full size Noir Eternae Youth Potion face scrub by La Theorie Des Volcans. The reason I’ve written supposedly is because the first time I came to use it I realised the tube is more than half empty. It says 30ml but there can’t be anymore than 10-15ml in there.
So unfortunately before I’d even used this I was already thinking ‘cheapskates’. Funnily enough the product card sort of mentions this as it says ‘the packaging is a little generous’ but I’m not convinced.
The other thing about this product that annoys me is the gimmicky colour change. The description says it changes from pink to grey as it removes impurities and dead skin cells but it’s just a colour change from mixing with water, there’s no magical impurity colour change.
The actual performance of the product was okay. It’s fragrance free and the particles are nice and fine but I don’t really like physical exfoliators for my face so I’ll probably use it up on my body in the shower. I’m just a bit underwhelmed by this one. It’s also very expensive for what it is, €30 for that little 30(?)ml tube. My recommendation would be not to bother.

And that’s February’s box! Did you get the same items in your box?
I really liked it overall, much better than last month. There seemed to be more thought going into this one. See you next time.

Cesca X

7 thoughts on “February Glossybox ’17

    1. I’ve just seen your review. Great minds think alike with those bloody long product names 😉
      But seriously it’s so annoying when you get a repeat. I feel your pain as they did it to me last month. And they didn’t even apologise when I called them out on twitter!
      I was very cheesed off with the service last month but I did like this month’s box.
      It’s not fair that Irish subscribers get a sub-par box. You should have had something great to make up for not being able to have two products. X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

