Beauty · Empties

May Empties

Hi Everyone,
I’ve had a little break from blogging. My last three Glossyboxes have been so rubbish I just haven’t even wanted to discuss them and life has been a little manic. Since my last post I’ve been to Mexico for two weeks, Rome, Belgium and I’m currently crazy-busy at work.
However I also have a huge backlog of products I’ve finished off and some are wonderful so I really wanted to put them up.

 

May empties

Seven items last month of mostly skincare:

  • Skyn Iceland  – Icelandic relief eye cream
  • Tata Harper – Nourishing Oil cleanser
  • Alpha H – Daily essential moisturiser and Balancing cleanser
  • Benefit – Hoola bronzer
  • Nip + Fab – Kale fix moisturiser
  • Ren – Glycolactic radiance renewal mask

Skyn Iceland Icelandic relief eye cream

The Skyn Iceland eye cream came in the M&S advent calendar so it’s taken me a long time to use such a tiny little pot. I’m not a huge fan unfortunately. The texture is a bit off. It feels like a gel that has started splitting and before using I had to mix it all together properly.
I also didn’t feel any effect on my eyes so I can’t recommend this one. I was disappointed not to love it as I’ve enjoyed all the Skyn Iceland products I’ve used up until now.
They are a decent price and you can pick them up in Marks and Sparks which is just really convenient!

Somehow I’ve thrown away the Tata Harper bottle before taking a picture which is a shame as the only complaint I had was with the packaging. The pump was absolutely useless and would jam every time I used it. They did send me a replacement but it was just as bad.

However I’ve already ordered and received a new one of these as I love the product so much and the pump has been changed for one that is smooth and easy to use. Excellent work Tata Harper! I originally got this product in a Cult Beauty box from Caroline Hirons and now I don’t think I could be without it. It’s a perfect all round cleanser for any skin type. It is very expensive though (£64 on Cult Beauty) so not for everyone.

Alpha H Balancing cleanser and Daily essential moisturiser

This pair from Alpha H were an impulse buy. I loved their Essential hydration cream so much I thought it would be worth a go. They have been really handy for travel and I don’t dislike them but I have better cleansers and better moisturisers.
The cleanser doesn’t leave my skin feeling like it’s breathing, it seems to stick a bit and the moisturiser also feels like it sits on the surface rather than sinking in. So unfortunately I won’t be purchasing these in the full sizes.

Benefit Hoola Bronzer

I was inordinately happy about finally finishing this bronzer from Benefit. I don’t think I’ve ever completely used up a bronzer of this size before! Such an achievement. 🙂
I love this so much I’ve already bought a replacement. It’s perfect for making my face look as tanned as the rest of my body through summer as I always wear SPF on my face so it never tans to the same level as the rest of me.
It looks natural and healthy. £24.50 from Feelunique (or anywhere else really but feel unique gives you a free gift).

Nip + Fab Kale fix moisturiser

This moisturiser from Nip + Fab came in my January Glossybox. I’ve been using it at night as it’s quite thick and takes a while to sink in. This means it’s not overly practical for putting makeup on in the mornings but it has a wonderful fresh cucumber-y scent and is really nourishing. I do love Nip + Fab for affordable skincare so if you’re working to a budget this could be the one for you. Only £14.95 for the full size bottle.

Ren Glycolactic radiance renewal mask

My final empty from last month is this Radiance renewal mask from Ren. I have had this for a really long time and so I decided I was going to use it up and set a reminder once a week to use it on a Sunday.
Because it doesn’t dry it feels quite sticky and itchy on, but it’s only 10 mins a week and it smell nice and citrusy. I really noticed this one working, if you don’t have many acids in your routine then this once a week would probably be really good for your skin. I prefer it to a physical ‘scrub’ exfoliator. It is quite strong though so probably best to patch test first. It’s £34 on Cult Beauty but a simple google will find it in lots of places.

I already have loads more empties from this month so look out for the June edit soon. I’m moving house at the end of the month so I’m trying to use up as many things as possible so it could be a bumper post.
Until next time.

Cesca x

Leave a Reply

