Beauty · Beauty boxes

Birchbox UK review – December

Hi Everyone,
As I mentioned in my last post, my December Birchbox arrived the same day as my Glossybox. So it’s time for another post looking at this month’s Birchbox *ahem* BirchBAG. Sorry.

2015-12-07 17.47.46

2015-12-07 17.48.36

It’s really nice. Although it doesn’t show in my hasty photos, the top, velvet layer is actually dark green in colour. As we all know though, it’s what’s inside that counts so let’s have a closer look…

2015-12-07 17.52.28

A generous number of samples. I’ll take them one by one as I usually do.

First up is the Sicilian Body Gel by Skin & Co.

2015-12-07 17.54.51

This is a shower gel, even though it is labelled a body gel. Sicily makes me think of fresh, bright produce and the product card describes Sicilian orange extract as one of the ‘zesty’ ingredients and so I was quite disappointed by the scent. I can’t really smell orange at all. It’s not unpleasant but there’s nothing distinctive about it. A thoroughly average shower gel.

Next is the Elemis Pro-Collagen Marine Cream.

2015-12-07 17.55.59

I’ve used Elemis products before and I like them. I’ve always found them very moisturising and not at all greasy (which I hate in a face moisturiser). This one is very smoothing and claims to fight wrinkles and tighten skin in 15 days! I think there’s easily enough in the tube to test that theory so a good sample.

I also received the Benefit Ultimate party kit, which contains minis of Puff Off! and They’re Real Push-Up Liner.

Both samples are really teeny tiny. The liner also has an annoying lid which won’t stay on once you’ve opened it and I think it’s drying out already.
I already own a full sized version of this eyeliner, I bought it in my quest for the perfect flick (which I still haven’t quite managed, if you have tips send them my way!) but I just couldn’t get along with it so I’m not happy with the extra but thanks anyway Birchbox.
I’ve wanted to try the Puff Off! for a while so I am happy with that. It smells very fresh and is a little bit tingly but has a really nice texture. It’s rich and creamy, not the slightly slippery consistency of a lot of eye creams and it also leaves my skin ready for makeup on top if necessary. Big fan of that one.

Two christmassy themed products up next. I’ll start with the Ciate paint pot in mostly a minx.

2015-12-07 17.55.44

I say it’s a christmassy sample because of the colour which is a nice deep red. I really like it actually and I think it’s very festive. Ciate are a great brand so I know the quality will be excellent.

In keeping with the red/christmas theme the next sample is an Ultra Long Lasting lipstick in Stiletto by ModelCo.

I have their Party Proof lipstick trio of nudes and although I love the colours and how moisturising they are I have never found them to have any staying power. This lipstick is a bit better, but it’s still quite easy to smudge. A smudged red lip just looks awful and I already have so many reds I don’t think this one will see any use.

This month was a bumper bag so there’s still one sample to go. The Lift, Instant Skin Smoothing Masque by Roloxin.

2015-12-07 17.52.54

This sample is a bit different and therefore quite exciting. You have to massage the packet to activate the masque and then apply the treatment. Apparently it smoothes wrinkles, diminishes pores and boosts radiance for the next 24 hours.
I’m taking the claims with a pinch of salt, but if it is as good as it says it is I’ll be back to add an edit and tell you so.
I’m saving it for a special Christmas or New Years event as it seemed a waste to use it and then just go to work so watch this space!

This is actually my last Birchbox for a while as I’ve chosen to cancel my subscription. If you’ve read my last few month’s of posts you will know I was getting very frustrated at the constant pushing of the same brands over and over and the fact that the boxes haven’t been very well thought through.

This month’s bag is pretty good, although I still think I’ve made the right decision as there are yet more tiny Benefit samples, and another red lipstick.
The Roloxin treatment is my favourite just because it’s something new and a bit different to try and that’s why I’ll only be buying Glossyboxes from now on. I have found them to be much better value for money, with 3-5 full sized samples every month and the variety is so much better.

 

3 thoughts on “Birchbox UK review – December

Leave a comment